Our club members can enjoy a unique flair in the elaborately restored Meyerschen Villa in Leipzig's Bachviertel. The two and a half storey villa in today's Käthe-Kollwitz-Str. 115 was commissioned by the publishing house Herrmann Julius Meyer ("Meyersches Konversationslexikon") in 1885 in the style of a Mediterranean palazzo of the Neo-Renaissance. The building was the work of Max Pommer and the first of a large number of city villas, which the architect subsequently built for wealthy Leipzig citizens.
The building, veneered in dark red clinker brick and decorated with a remarkable frieze using sgrafitto technology, was bought in 1893 by the merchant Christian Alexander Frege II and passed on to his two daughters Herta Dufour-Feronce and Annemarie Klemm in 1932.
Until the occupation by Russian troops, the Klemm family lived in the rooms decorated with impressive wall paintings and stucco decorations.
From 1943 the NS Altherrenbund of German students had its headquarters in the Meyerschen Villa, from 1948 the Kulturbund der DDR. During this time, the original paintings were repainted several times with latex paints, whereby the stone imitation paintings in beer glaze technique in particular were well preserved in their original form and color. In 2002 the Weitzel family bought the house, which was restored in 2004 as part of a general renovation with many details of the original building fabric. Valuable figurative and ornamental paintings were uncovered from the time of their construction and could be restored true to the original with the support of the city of Leipzig and the then regional council of Leipzig.
Today we can receive our club members and their guests in the exclusive ambience of these impressive rooms and take them into the representative living flair of Leipzig in the late 19th century.